Egg Bites

I’m back! I took an unplanned hiatus and really missed this place! How are you all doing?

I’ve been up to a lot of things since I wrote last. In particular, I’ve taken quite an interest in Pinterest. If you haven’t checked out the Pinterest website, you really should visit! I love it because you can search for anything and find hundreds of unique ideas.

I’ve been using Pinterest lately to help me eat better. How many times have you been starving and despite your intentions to eat well, you grab the easiest thing because you’re just so hungry. So hungry that you can’t eat fast enough! I’ve been guilty of this! Part of losing weight and keeping healthy is planning and preparation. This can actually be fun when you have new ideas to try!

I found this idea on Pinterest and tweaked it a bit to fit my liking. I call these Egg Bites. The original recipe called for just egg whites but I added in whole eggs because I really believe in the power of the yolk. The entire recipe calls for 6 whole eggs and 3/4 cup egg whites, and each bite contains just over 20 calories. These make great pre or post workout snacks. My family also loves them for breakfast!

They are super easy to make!

IMG_0721

Here’s what you need:

  • A mini muffin tin
  • Olive Oil or cooking spray to prep the pan
  • Chopped veggies of your choice
  • 6 whole eggs
  • 3/4 cup egg whites

IMG_0695

 

First, prep the muffin tin with olive oil using a paper towel or use cooking spray such as Pam. Line the bottom of the tin with your veggies. Here I used fresh spinach leaves and fresh pico de gallo. The options are unlimited! Go crazy!

IMG_0701 IMG_0702Beat the whole eggs, combine with the egg whites and pour into the muffin tin over the veggies.

IMG_0704

Now bake at 350 for roughly 17 – 18 minutes.

IMG_0710

Uncooked

 

Cooked after 17 minutes

Cooked after 17 minutes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let cool a few minutes and pop them out of the tin.

IMG_0714

Store them in an air tight container in the frig. They will keep for about 4 days!

IMG_0724

Make it a goal to prep healthy food in advance so you’re not caught binging on whatever is easy when those hunger pangs hit.

Enjoy!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Egg Bites

Leave a Reply

