Fitbit Flex – Update

The Fitbit Flex - pretty packaging

The Fitbit Flex

I got my Fitbit Flex on Mother’s Day, May 12th and I encountered my first functional problem with it on Father’s Day, June 16th. That’s only 5 weeks later. This is a record I didn’t want to set! I realize that gadgets go wrong, but I felt a little sad, nonetheless. The biggest question is, how did Customer Service respond?

If you’ve read my previous posts, you know I also have a Nike FuelBand and a Jawbone UP, and I love both for different reasons.  I had to contact Customer Service for both of these devices and was very impressed with their responses on both counts.

My first impression was that the Flex band would give the UP band a run for it’s money. They are very similar in function and the Flex is $30 cheaper.  But then, a product is only as good as the Company that stands behind it.  When things go wrong, I expect the company to step up, don’t you?

My Experience

Here’s what happened with the Fitbit Flex

I set my Flex for sleep mode before going to bed on Sat., June 15th by tapping the face rapidly for a few seconds.  A gently vibration signaled that the band changed settings.

Upon waking on the 16th I went to tap it rapidly again, but nothing happened.  I plugged it in to charge, but nothing lit up. The battery appeared dead and showed no signs of charging.

As I was scouring the Fitbit website for troubleshooting tips, I received an email that my Fitbit battery was low.  A nice feature if it arrives in a timely manner.  This was a little too late.

I found troubleshooting tips and followed them all. Nothing worked.

Contacting Customer Service

To contact the support team, you have to email them your problem.  Almost immediately they do send you back an automated response acknowledging you. Their response also contains this statement: “We do not currently offer live phone or chat support, but our support team is here to help seven days a week”. Yes, they said 7 days a week!

3 days later they responded to my email. I think this is a long time. It’s not just me, right?

In their response they restated all the troubleshooting tips I already tried.  In addition, they included one other tip: Clean the sensors of the tracker and charger with a Q-tip and rubbing alcohol. This actually worked!

Fitbit Help Page

So I went back to the website to check if this tip was there, and yes, somehow I missed it.  (Hey, I’m not proud! I will admit when I’m in error!) But if I missed it, how many others might miss it too?

It’s on the very bottom of the Help page, but the way that page is set up, it can easily be overlooked. The Help page is a very general troubleshooting page for ALL of their devices.  I think they should have a separate page for each specific device, with contains every tip for each specific device.  This would be very helpful to me.

My thoughts at this point

Truth be told, I am happy that my problem is fixed, but extremely annoyed at the same time. If Customer Service claims to be available 7 days a week, it shouldn’t take them 3 days to respond to a simple email request.

All in all, I still like my Fitbit Flex and am happy to be wearing it again. My favorite part is the gentle vibration it makes when you hit your step goal for the day. It gives me a feeling of joy. It’s the little things!

Now if they just improve the bigger things…

One thought on “Fitbit Flex – Update

Leave a Reply

