There’s a New Band in Town – The Fitbit Flex

The Fitbit Flex - pretty packaging

The Fitbit Flex – pretty packaging

The last thing I need is another activity tracking wristband.  I’m still hooked on both the Nike+ FuelBand and the UP by Jawbone. But I got so excited when I discovered there’s a new product available, the Fitbit Flex.

I first saw the Fitbit Flex online a few weeks ago. It has many features similar to the UP.  I kept wondering if it’s ‘as good’ as the UP (it costs $30 less. This is great news!).  When I spied it in Best Buy, BOOM, I had to get one.

It’s only been on the market a short time and I’ve only had it for a few days. But here’s my take on it so far!

Initial Impression

Despite how excited I was before I opened the package, we did not get off to a great start. My biggest frustration came with trying the band on.  A picture is worth 1,000 words!

The inside of my wrist was bright red by the time I successfully got the thing on.

I’ve since learned it works better to secure it wrong side up on your wrist and then twist it around. I highly recommend this approach!

The activity tracker is a tiny piece, about an inch long, that inserts into either the large or small band.  There’s a tiny, almost invisible arrow on top of the tracker, which guides you in inserting it correctly. This is very different from both the Nike+ FuelBand and the UP where the the activity tracker is part of the band.

 The Set Up Using the Fitbit App

When I downloaded the App I discovered that this is where they hide all the instructions! A little late, but good to know!

Initially I had problems setting up my band with the App. (I have an iPhone 4s. It’s also compatible with iPhone 5, select other Apple products and select Android phones).

After several frustrating attempts I had success and all was well with the world again!

You Can Also Sync to Your PC or MAC

If you don’t have a compatible phone or device, you can sync your Flex to your PC or Mac. This is also true with the Nike+ FuelBand. Unfortunately, with the UP you have to have a compatible phone. 

See you progress on the app throughout the day

See you progress on the app throughout the day

The App

Once you pair your Flex to the App the fun begins!  Every time you open the app it syncs your data like magic! No need to take it off your wrist (thank goodness!) It tracks your every move, you can set goals, it estimates calories burned, and more fun stuff I haven’t figured out yet.

So far, the app looks cool. Similar to the UP, it does have food log, (which is key with me).

I learned the hard way, though, that if you don’t completely close the app out in your phone when you’re not using it,  it really drains your phone battery.

Fitbit Flex Facebook Page

I was excited to discover the Flex has a very active Facebook page where users share both their praises and their misery. Occasionally their inquiries are answered by a Fitbit guru. Also, yesterday I saw that users were trading band colors here. Since everyone ends up with one size that doesn’t fit, people were trading that band for one in another color that does. “Anyone want to trade a large black for a small slate?”

https://www.facebook.com/fitbit?filter=2

I’ve just begun to dig into the Flex. More to come on this one!

I do have a good feeling so far!

Follow me on my journey!

Leave a Reply

